

November 20, 2014

ISSWSH Board of Directors 2014 – 2015

President

Sharon J. Parish, MD, IF, NCMP

President-Elect

Irwin Goldstein, MD, IF

Secretary

James A. Simon, MD, CCD, NCMP, IF, FACOG

Treasurer

David Portman, MD, FACOG, IF

Past-President

Andrew T. Goldstein, MD, FACOG, IF

Directors

Marianne Brandon, PhD, IF Anita Clayton, MD, IF William A. Fisher, PhD Murray Freedman, MD Shari B. Goldfarb, MD Debra Herbenick, PhD, MPH Marcel Waldinger, MD

Fellowship Chairman

Susan Kellogg-Spadt, PhD, CRNP, IF

Online Services Chairman

Crista E. Johnson, MD, MSc, IF

Global Development Chairman

Sue W. Goldstein, BA, CCRC, IF

Scientific Program Chairman

Noel N. Kim, PhD

Scientific Program Co-Chairman

Debra Herbenick, PhD, MPH

Ex-Officio Member

Sue W. Goldstein, BA, CCRC, IF

Executive Director

David Casalod

Association Manager

Tessa Benitez

Dear Members,

As President of ISSWSH, I am writing to you regarding recent public events that address ISSWSH's affiliations and reputation. It is essential to set the record straight following publication of an Op Ed piece in the LA Times which falsely characterized our relationship with the pharmaceutical industry.

With regard to ISSWSH's actions related to the FDA meeting referenced in the Op Ed, ISSWSH notified its members that they could inform their patients about FDA's Public Meeting on Patient-Focused Drug Development for Female Sexual Dysfunction on Monday, October 27, 2014. We also passed on information about availability of travel funds for patients. ISSWSH did not provide any financial support for patient travel, influence patients regarding the decision to attend, or provide content for their personal presentations.

Furthermore, while advocacy groups mentioned in the Op Ed, such as eventhescore.org and #womendeserve, address an important unmet medical need, ISSWSH has no financial ties with either of these organizations.

As the leader of ISSWSH, I take enormous pride in our mission, activities, commitment and tireless work on behalf of women worldwide. ISSWSH is the largest international multidisciplinary, academic, scientific society dedicated exclusively to research, clinical practice, and education in women's sexual health. We have a strictly enforced conflict of interest policy that protects our programs from undue industry influence. We champion high quality scientific meetings and comprehensive CME educational programs which have educated hundreds of practitioners across many disciplines. Moreover, we collaborate robustly and build consensus with numerous other North American and international societies dedicated to women's health and sexual medicine.

With this comprehensive mission, our society is primarily funded by our membership dues, with a small percentage of our operating costs coming from unrestricted grants from a variety of industry and other commercial sponsors. Some of our leaders serve as advisors to pharmaceutical companies. Partnerships with industry are critical to the advancement of



ISSWSH Board of Directors 2014 – 2015

President

Sharon J. Parish, MD, IF, NCMP

President-Elect

Irwin Goldstein, MD, IF

Secretary

James A. Simon, MD, CCD, NCMP, IF, FACOG

Treasurer

David Portman, MD, FACOG, IF

Past-President

Andrew T. Goldstein, MD, FACOG, IF

Directors

Marianne Brandon, PhD, IF Anita Clayton, MD, IF William A. Fisher, PhD Murray Freedman, MD Shari B. Goldfarb, MD Debra Herbenick, PhD, MPH Marcel Waldinger, MD

Fellowship Chairman

Susan Kellogg-Spadt, PhD, CRNP, IF

Online Services Chairman

Crista E. Johnson, MD, MSc, IF

Global Development Chairman

Sue W. Goldstein, BA, CCRC, IF

Scientific Program Chairman

Noel N. Kim, PhD

Scientific Program Co-Chairman

Debra Herbenick, PhD, MPH

Ex-Officio Member

Sue W. Goldstein, BA, CCRC, IF

Executive Director

David Casalod

Association Manager

Tessa Benitez

scientific research that leads to much needed treatment options. ISSWSH aligns with these sponsors only to the extent that our missions overlap.

Let me reassure you that ISSWSH will remain solidly focused on its purpose and continue operating with the integrity that has been critical to our success in providing a unique home for its members. Please stand tall and join me in endorsing our society as we move into a very exciting future for the treatment of women's sexual disorders and the promotion of women's sexual health worldwide.

As always, please contact me personally through <u>info@isswsh.org</u> if you have any comments, questions, or concerns.

Most Sincerely,

Sharon J. Parish, MD, IF, NCMP

President, International Society for the Study of Women's Sexual Health