International Society for the Study of Women's Sexual Health

Endowment Fund

What is an Endowment Fund?
An endowment is an investment fund set aside for the long-term support of an organization.

Only the income, or a portion of the income from such a fund, is made available to spend. The principal is preserved in perpetuity, that is, it is held forever. All funds are held in the organization's name. The invested money is protected, allowing it to grow.

Sustaining the long-term vitality and growth of the ISSWSH, the General Endowment Fund will allow our organization to put more income into planning quality scientific programs, and explore new initiatives, while using the current income to maintain our daily operations. Each contribution will be acknowledged and recognized at the annual meeting, on the website, and through other communications.

Since ISSWSH is a 501(c)(3) organization, gifts may be deductible as a charitable contribution, please consult with your tax advisor.

Click here to download the form and return it via mail or fax. - -
Category: About



Best Abstract Prize - ISSWSH Annual meeting 2015

What Exactly do you mean by "Sexual Problem?" Specific Descriptions of Self-Identified Impairments in Female Sexual Function
Stephenson, K1; Toorabally, N1; Meston, C2
1: California State University Monterey Bay, USA; 2: University of Texas at Austin, USA

Best Poster Prize - ISSWSH Annual meeting 2015

Sexual Desire, It's Complicated: Results from Bi, Lesbian, and Straight Women
Mark, K
University of Kentucky, USA


Prize Essay in Psychology

The Role of Conditioning, Learning and Dopamine in Sexual Behavior: A Narrative Review of Animal and Human Studies
Mirte Brom
Department of Psychosomatic Gynaecology and Sexology, Leiden University Medical Center, Leiden, The Netherlands

New Investigator Award in Psychology

Prevalence and Predictors of Genito-Pelvic Pain in Pregnancy and Postpartum: The Prospective Impact of Fear-Avoidance
Maria Glowacka
Dalhousie University, Halifax, N.S.

Bjorn Lundquist New Investigator Award in Biology

Pelvic Examination Experiences in Women with and without Chronic Pain During Intercourse
Stephanie Boyer, MSc
Department of Psychology, Queen's University, Kingston, ON, Canada


Psychology - Basic Science

Medical School Clinical Training in Women’s Sexual Health
Praveena Selvaduray, PhD
University of California at San Diego

Psychology - Clinical

Testosterone, Adaptive Assertiveness, and Female Sexual Behavior
Bridget Iverson
University of Vermont

Biology - Clinical

Perceived Versus Measured Functional Vaginal Capacity in Women with Sexual Function Concerns
Vanessa Kennedy, MD
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of California Davis Medical Center, Sacramento, California

Category: About


The ISSWSH is a multidisciplinary, academic, and scientific organization with the following purposes:

  • To provide opportunities for communication among scholars, researchers, and practitioners about women's sexual function and sexual experience,
  • To support the highest standards of ethics and professionalism in research, education, and clinical practice of women's sexuality, and
  • To provide the public with accurate information about women's sexuality and sexual health
Category: About


Johanna Hannan, PhD; Greenville, NC (Co-chair)
Linda Vignozzi, MD; Montespertoli, Italy (Co-chair)
Gloria Bachmann, MD; New Brunswick, NJ
Richard Balon, MD; Detroit, MI
William Fisher, PhD; Ontario, Canada
Fernand Labrie, MD, PhD; Quebec, Canada
Jane Manning, MBBS, FRANZCOG, CU, MM; Hamilton, Australia
Kwangsung Park, MD, PhD, IF; Gwangju, South Korea
Alexander Pastuszak, MD, PhD; Houston, TX
Nicole Szell, DO; Warren, MI

Alyse M. Kelly-Jones, MD, IF; Charlotte, NC (Chair)
Alan Altman, MD, IF; Aspen, CO
Anita H. Clayton, MD, IF; Charlottesville, VA
Seth Cohen, MD, MPH; New York, NY
Stephanie S. Faubion, MD, FACP, NCMP, IF; Rochester, MN
Susan Kellogg-Spadt, PhD, CRNP, IF; Philadelphia, PA
Sheryl Kingsberg, PhD, IF; Cleveland, OH
Lisa Larkin, MD, FACP, NCMP, IF; Cincinnati, OH
Stuart D. Shoengold, MD; Millburn, NJ
Daniel N. Watter, PhD; Parsippany, NJ

Tami Rowen MD, MS; San Francisco, CA (Chair)
Shari Goldfarb MD; New York, NY
Rose Hartzell-Cushanick, PhD, EdS, CHES, LMFT, IF
Risa Kagan MD; Berkely, CA
Sharon Parish MD, IF, NCMP; White Plains, NY

Brooke Faught (Chair), MSN, WHNP-BC, IF; Nashville, TN 

Alan Altman, MD, IF; Aspen, CO
Johannes Bitzer, MD, IF; Basel, Switzerland

Katherine Williams, MD, IF, FACOG; Covington, LA

Sue W. Goldstein, CCRC, CSE, IF; San Diego, CA (Chair)
Johannes Bitzer, MD, IF; Basel, Switzerland (Co-Chair European Initiatives)
Catherine L. Gagnon, NP; San Diego, CA (Co-Director NPWH / ISSWSH Course)
Rachel Rubin, MD, Washington, DC

Heather S. Howard, PhD, MPH, IF; San Francisco, CA (Chair)
Erin Gross, MD; San Diego, CA
Julie Jones, CNM; Riverton, UT
Peter Palacio, MD; Bend, OR
Katherine Williams, MD, IF, FACOG; Covington, LA

Heather Howard, PhD, MPH, IF; San Francisco, CA (Sub-Committee Chair)

Corey R. Babb, DO, IF; Tulsa, OK

Nicole Cirino, MD; Portland, OR

Heather Davidson, Ed.M., M.A., LPC, CST; Narberth, PA

Faysal El Kak, MD; Beirut, Lebanon

Melissa A. Farmer, PhD; Chicago, IL

Robyn Faye, MD, FACOG, NCMP, IF; Blue Bell, PA

Aleece Fosnight, MSPAS, PA-C; Brevard, NC

Christina M. Hegan, MS, WHNP-BC; Dallas, TX

Julie Jones, CNM; Riverton, UT

Sally MacPhedran, MD; Cleveland, OH

Lourdes Mantecon-Garza, MD, MBA; McAllen, TX

MeLanie Modjoros, MD; Annandale, VA

Shelby Powers; Greenville, NC

Rachel Rubin, MD; Washington, DC

Irwin Goldstein, MD, IF; San Diego, CA (chair)
Heather Howard, PhD, MPH, IF; San Francisco, CA
Lisa Larkin, MD, FACP, NCMP, IF; Cincinnati, OH
Noel N. Kim, PhD, IF; San Diego, CA

Stephanie S. Faubion, MD, FACP, NCMP, IF (Chair)
Melissa A. Farmer, PhD; Chicago, IL (Co-Chair)
William Fisher, PhD; London, Ontario Canada
Sue W. Goldstein, CCRC, CSE, IF; San Diego, CA (Advisor)
Timothy C. Hlavinka, MD, IF; San Antonio, TX
Crista E. Johnson-Agbakwu, MD, MSc, IF; Phoenix, AZ
Lisa Larkin, MD, NCMP; Cincinatti, OH
Becky K. Lynn, MD; Columbia, MO
Susan K. Preslar, MS, FNP-C; Medford, OR
Jordan Rullo, PhD, LP; Rochester, MN
Mitchell S. Tepper, PhD, MPH; Atlanta, GA

Juliana Kling, MD, MPH; Scottsdale, AZ (Sub-Committee Chair)

Kristin Christiansen, MD; St. Louis Park, MN (Sub-Committee Chair)

Alyse Kelly-Jones (Chair), MD, IF; Charlotte, NC
Stephanie Buehler, PsyD; Newport Beach, CA
Melissa Dahir, DNP; DNP, IF; Omaha, NB
Melissa Farmer, PhD; Chicago, IL
Michael Goodman, MD, FACOG, NCMP, IF; Davis, CA
Barbara Green, PT, MS; Charlotte, NC
Melissa Hague, MD; Wichita, KS
Tarek Khalife, MD; Ironwood, MI
Lisa Larkin, MD, FACP, NCMP, IF; Cincinnati, OH
Serena McKenzie, ND, IF; Kirkland, WA
Christopher Morris, MD; Charlotte, NC
Danielle O'Banion, MD; Boston, MA
Kenneth Pollock, MD; Poughkeepsie, NY
Carina Ryder, MS, CNM, NCMP; Washington, DC
Maria Sophocles, MD; Princeton, NJ
Nicole Szell, DO; Warren, MI
Maureen Whelihan, MD, FACOG; Lake Worth, FL

Sharon J. Parish, MD, IF, NCMP; White Plains, NY (Chair)
Rose Hartzell-Cushanick, PhD, EdS, CHES, LMFT, IF (Co-Chair)

Joshua Gonzalez (Chair), MD; Los Angeles, CA

Jill Becker, MD; Newton, MA

Stephanie Prendergast, MPT; Los Angeles, CA

Rachel Rubin, MD; Washington, DC

Sherry Thomas, MD, MPH; Agoura Hills, CA

Dr. Simon, ISSWSH President, and Dr. Larkin, ISSWSH Secretary, are ex-officio members of all committees.

Category: About


The current ISSWSH bylaws can be downloaded here. - -

Category: About


Latest Tweets

#Sexuality and #intimacy among people with serious #mentalillness in hospital and community settings: a qualitative… ISSWSH
Become an ISSWSH Fellow (IF) : ISSWSH